Class import process

Created: 03/21/2016

The import process can create, remove and update classes in your Teacher Dashboard instance so should be used carefully. The processing steps are as follows:

Step 1

Validate the contents to make sure that all class IDs are unique and that all users exist in your tenant.

Step 2

Process each row of the file (which represents a class) and check to see if the class ID already exists in Teacher Dashboard.

  • If the class ID already exists in Teacher Dashboard, update the class with the name and description defined in the import file. Remove all teachers and students from the class, and repopulate it with the students/teachers contained in the import file. Removing users from classes does not affect their OneDrive contents or existing assignments in any way.
  • If the class ID does not exist in Teacher Dashboard, create the class using the name and description defined in the import file. Populate the new class with the list of students and teachers contained in the import file.

Step 3

Delete any classes from Teacher Dashboard that are not present in the import file. Deleting classes does not affect the OneDrive content of the previous class members or their existing assignments in any way.

Note: 'hidden' users in Teacher Dashboard will be skipped during the import process. Hidden users are users that your administrator has hidden through the 'Users' screen. These may be system users that you don't want showing up in Teacher Dashboard, or students/teachers that have left the school but have not yet been removed from your SMS or Active Directory.

Can I use the import process more than once?

Yes you can. You can re-import your class data as often as you like.

Can I use the import process if I have already setup all my classes manually?

Yes you can. The import process will remove all the classes that you created, and replace them with ones in the import file. Please remember, if you then make changes to your classes manually in Teacher Dashboard (e.g. changing the name, description and/or the students and teachers of the class), these changes will be overwritten next time you do an import. You can avoid this by ensuring that the same updates are made in the external system that generates your import file.